Delta Research Consortium

The Delta Research Consortium is a collaborative network of four-year colleges and universities throughout the Mississippi River Delta and Alabama Black Belt regions and stakeholders from public and private organizations. The Consortium works to maximize funding and collaboration for positive and solutions-driven research in the Delta region. Together with the leadership of the Delta Regional Authority, the consortium is committed to being:

  • Collaborative and inclusive of many: Building our shared capacity for engaging research and innovation across all sectors;
  • Innovative and entrepreneurial: Elevating faculty and student research, demonstrating to stakeholders the value and relevance of research in higher education; and
  • Inspiring and impactful: Committed to bringing our shared assets to bear on the significant social and economic opportunities and challenges in the Delta for meaningful impact.

For more information about the Delta Research Consortium, contact Rebekah Craig by email or by phone at 870-972-2168.


DRC Leadership Summit | April 9-10, 2015

Arkansas State University and the Delta Regional Authority invited research officers and other executive leaders of four-year universities throughout the Mississippi River Delta and Alabama Black Belt regions to participate in the initial phase of establishing a Delta Research Consortium that connects researchers, practitioners, and communities to the data that helps develop strategies and solutions for addressing our region’s greatest challenges.

At the summit, we articulated a shared vision for the consortium, developed unifying strategies to advance our vision, established priorities and developed an initial working infrastructure. Jonathan Bucki of the Dendros Group was retained as an experienced, neutral facilitator to help guide the process.

Keynote address was delivered on Thursday morning by Chris Masingill, Federal Co-Chairman of the Delta Regional Authority.

Tennessee Senate Majority Leader Mark Norris (R) of Collierville, TN shared dinner remarks on Thursday evening. Among numerous awards for leadership, Senator Norris is a past recipient of the Henry Toll Fellowship, recognizing him as one of the top 40 state legislative leaders in the nation.

Friday’s plenary session included Wm. David Burns, Executive Director of the National Center for Science and Civic Engagement (NCSCE) and the founder and principal investigator of SENCER (an NSF-supported faculty empowerment and curricular reform program).

Additional Guiding Team Institutions: Delta State University | Louisiana State University | Mississippi State University | Southeast Missouri State University | University of Memphis | University of Tennessee at Martin

Event Sponsors: Delta Regional Authority | Oak Ridge Associated Universities | Arkansas State University | Ritter Communications | Hope Credit Union


Helpful Resources